Random Piece of Inspiration: 998 Good Bricks

Off Duty

Admist the stress of finals and the end of the year, I was desperately craving some inspiration. It was then that I was forunate to stumble on this amazing song. Give it a listen.

998 Good Bricks by Zakaraka and Imaginomics

This is based on a spiritual story by Ajahn Brahm, and I really felt that it contains a lesson worth disucussing. So often in life, we get hung up on the couple of things in life that are not going our way, and this distracts us from all of the other things that are going well in our lives. Similar to in the story, we are hung up on the two bad bricks instead of 998 good ones.

Since discovering this song, I have been attempting to shift my awareness. I start each day by thinking about at least three things that I am thankful for in my life. It’s amazing how once you start to acknowedge the positives, more and more positives will appear to you. Dwelling on the negatives will not help at all and in fact, it will make them seem even worse than they actually are. When you get hung up thinking about what you do not want, you are giving that even more power. Just try it out and see what happens!

I encourage you all to keep this idea in mind as you are living your lives. Every human has unique talents so you can’t beat yourself up for lacking a specific talent or for a mistake or two that you make. There are so many “mistakes” that have been made in famous works such as clothes, paintings or film, which ultimately made them even better. Sometimes it is the mistakes that are actually unique features that improve the end result or inspire an even better idea. Apply this concept to yourself as well. I know that in the past I have definitely struggled with being able to forgive myself for the mistakes that I have made. I can be a bit of a perfectionist so when I mess something up, it’s hard for me to let it go. But by not letting go, it holds me back from seeing the bigger picture and possibly prevent something amazing from happening in the future. Mistakes are just as essential to the journey as the successes. Keep it in perspective everyone, and stay humble yet hopeful.

xx,

Kelsey Knepler

Image Source: Featured Image

Leave a Reply

